Social Media and Email – thoughts about coexistance

I recently read an excellent post on the blog:
The Digital Frontier ( http://blogs.mediapost.com/digital_frontier/?p=371) that brought up a number of interesting points on how Social Media and email are de-facto continuing to exist side by side quite peacefully (at least for now)

After I read the article there were a few points that I published there as comments and have copied here as well:

Regarding the basic statement of the article, that both mediums can coexist independently:

I found that I like having separate accounts, and at times separate identities, for my various communications – This has nothing to do with the functionality of the machine, the internet, or any specific site – It is a basic human trait that we compartmentalize and separate our relationships according to relevance, etc. and though a single unifying page would do nothing to harm that I still like the “ritual of passage” that flicking from one medium or site to the other affords me.

Regarding the possibility of a future unified interface:

I think that as social networking sites and tools become more and more evolved, forever bombarding us with new features that we, regretfully, all fall in love with and quickly find indispensable it will be a very tough GUI project to bring together all the various functions on to one screen without either cutting back on features, which will annoy those of us who are attached to something that gets left out, or creating a GUI that will be so messy and complicated, that we won’t understand or enjoy using it.

Regarding my own habits at the moment:

What do I do?
Have my google bookmarks appear as part of my Igoogle home page and access everything from there. It might not be pretty, but it works well, and I’m used to it…

: )

Mike
http://ReaderImpact.com

Tags: ,

Leave a comment